Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease. Gluten, found in wheat, oats, barley and rye triggers an immune reaction in people with celiac disease. Eating gluten damages the tissue of the small intestine, causing discomfort or pain and can result in malnutrition due to poor absorption of nutrients.

People with celiac disease should avoid eating foods that contain gluten. It is present in most breads, pastry products, pasta, and in a large number of processed products, which often contain gluten as a food additive.

The symptoms of the disease are varied among them are: diarrhea, bloated belly and / or constipation, gastrointestinal problems, such as nausea and vomiting, stomach pain, cramps or bloating, lack of iron, vitamin B12 or folic acid, tiredness and / or headache, weight loss, alopecia, mouth ulcers, skin rashes, problems with tooth enamel, osteoporosis, depression, infertility, miscarriages, joint and / or bone pain.

Celiac disease used to be considered rare, but it is being diagnosed in increasing numbers. The only treatment is a gluten-free diet.

Legumes a gluten-free food

Legumes are a gluten-free food, excellent for people with celiac disease. Apart from legumes, nature offers many gluten-free foods: meat, fish, chicken, nuts, seeds, milk, yogurt, cheese, fruits, vegetables and products that can be an alternative to wheat, such as amaranth, buckwheat, flax , quinoa, sorghum and rice.

Manufacturers of gluten-free pasta and food products often use a mixture of rice flour, and tapioca, corn and potato starches. Currently there is a trend to incorporate healthier ingredients for a better diet, taste and texture. For example: legume flours (beans, broad beans, chickpeas, lentils, peas), ground flax, amaranth, quinoa, and brown rice. Legumes are also used in some pasta products, in both canned and dehydrated soups. A company in the United States is investigating the incorporation of ground beans and chickpeas in its snack and cereal line.